Inauguration Masses held for six new parishes

by NZ CATHOLIC staff
Archbishop of Wellington Cardinal John Dew announced the formation of six new parishes in Wellington, effective from February 1.
The move forms part of the restructuring of the archdiocese outlined in the document A future full of hope, where the number of territorial parishes was cut down to 20, from an
original 46.
Archbishop Dew referred to his announcement of October 2013, when he said the new parishes “are the fruit of deep reflection and fervent prayer, for which I am very grateful. It is very clear that the discussions were accompanied by a sense of excitement and with great energy and passion, which are wonderful gifts to bring to the life of the Church”.
The first parish to celebrate its formation was the Our Lady of the Valleys parish. This parish was made up of the parishes of Our Lady of Grace, Heretaunga, and St Francis Xavier,
Stokes Valley.
At the inauguration Mass of the new parish on February 1, the archbishop called on its parishioners to become missionaries “whose task is to tell others who Jesus is”.
“Through the gifts God gives us, we all have a role to play and gifts to offer. It is not Fr Ron’s parish, or Matthew’s parish . . . it is yours. . . . You are called to work together, under their leadership, to build this into the best possible parish you can be,” he said.
The Catholic parish of Te Awakairangi celebrated its inauguration Mass the following Sunday, February 8. That parish is composed of the former parishes of St Martin de Porres, Avalon,
Sts Peter and Paul, Lower Hutt, St Bernadette, Naenae and St Michael, Taita.
Jesus the Good Shepherd will be patron of the parish.
The new parish of Wairarapa will celebrate its inaguration Mass on March 1. The parishes of St Mary, Carterton, St Teresa, Featherston and St Patrick, Masterton, were merged to become the new parish.
The parish of the Holy Spirit–Te Wairua Tapu will hold its inauguration Mass the following Sunday, March 8.
This parish merges the parishes of San Antonio, Eastbourne, Sacred Heart, Petone, St Patrick, Wainuiomata and Our Lady of the Rosary, Waiwhetu.
On March 15, Our Lady of Hope parish will have its inauguration Mass. This parish will cover the former parishes of Our Lady of Fatima, Tawa and St Pius X Parish, Titahi Bay.
Holy Trinity parish, merged from the parishes of St Patrick, Kilbirnie, Holy Cross, Miramar and St Anthony, Seatoun, will celebrate its inauguration Mass on May 10.

Posted in

NZ Catholic Staff

Reader Interactions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *