Dioceses move priests

New clergy appointments in the dioceses of Hamilton, Auckland and Dunedin were announced at the start of the year.
Dunedin Bishop Colin Campbell appointed Rev Jacob Thevasahayampillai parish administrator for Western Southland parish. Fr Vaughan Leslie, former parish priest, is on loan to Palmerston North diocese.
Newly ordained priest Fr Sani Lam received his assignment as assistant priest of Dunedin South Pastoral Area.
Fr David Hercus is retiring from chaplaincy work at the Little Sisters of the Poor home (Brockville).
Clergy changes in Dunedin diocese will be effective from January 31. Hamilton
Hamilton Bishop Stephen Lowe appointed Fr Richard Laurenson as administrator of the cathedral and parish priest of St Matthews, Hillcrest. Fr Joseph George is assistant priest at the cathedral and St Matthews.
Fr Leonard Danvers will be parish priest of Cambridge and Matamata.
Fr Trevor Murray is appointed parish priest of Taupo and Turangi.
Waihi and Katikati will have Fr Aidan Mulholland as parish priest.
Fr Lawrie Bishop will be parish priest of Taumarunui.
Fr Anselm Aherne, MHM, will serve as parish priest of Huntly and Ngaruawahia with Fr Danny Fraser-Jones as assistant priest. They will continue to reside in Frankton in the meantime.
Frs Seejo Thandiackal and Augustine Han are appointed priests in residence in Fairfield and Te Rapa. Their appointments will take effect on February 20, 2016.
Auckland Bishop Patrick Dunn announced the following appointments for
parish priests, to take effect from Feb.1:
Fr Manoj Kunnath, CSSR, to Mangere East; Fr Anthony Tran, CSSR, to Glendowie; Fr Felise Lemi, CSSR, to Glen Innes; Fr Chris Martin, SM, to Whangarei; Fr Philip Sullivan to Balmoral; Msgr David Tonks to Takapuna and Fr Michael Wooller, SM, to Manurewa.
Msgr Bernard Kiely is appointed Parnell administrator residing at St Patrick’s Cathedral.
The following priests are to assist in these parishes: Fr Elric Jorquia, Papatoetoe; Fr Percy Kimble, SM, Manurewa; Fr Joselito Layug, SSP, Balmoral; Fr Bwebwenta Mikaere, Epsom (also Kiribati chaplain); Fr Jeremy Palman, Te Atatu; Fr Jun Peralta, SVD, Panmure; Fr Gilbert Ramos, East Coast Bays (after April 1); Fr Richard Sabiti, Glenfield; Fr Roynaldo Noeng, CSSR, and Fr Bernard Teo, CSSR, Mangere.
Other appointments include: Fr Peter Murphy as Director of Contemplative Prayer; Fr John Fitzmaurice for Deaf Community Mass; Fr Maurice Ford as Middlemore Hospital chaplain, Fr Iosevo Ratuvere to St John Vianney House (in residence for medical treatment); Fr Ivan Lunjevich to Mercy Parklands; Fr David Mullins, SM, to St Joseph’s Home, Independent Living Unit, and Sr Jane O’Carroll, SM, as pastoral assistant to the bishop and vicar for religious.
The following Society of Mary priests will serve these parishes: Frs Barry Malone and Trevor Tindall, Okaihau and Fr Carl Telford, SM, Whangarei. Christchurch
Christchurch diocese will be reshuffling priests by the middle of the year, said Christchurch Vicar General and administrator Fr Rick Loughnan.
“Usually the bishop makes appointments to change at the last weekend in January, but we are going to do the shifts in the middle of the year when the three priests ordained in December are back from the seminary and will be given their first appointment,” he said.

Posted in

Rowena Orejana

Reader Interactions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *